Official eMule-Board: Problematic Software List - Official eMule-Board

Jump to content


  • (8 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • Last »

Problematic Software List known interferences with eMule

#81 User is offline   Vern_Ulven 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 21-August 03

Posted 07 September 2003 - 02:09 AM

I also have a problem running .30a and MIRC at the same time. I frequently get disconnected and my DCC's are slowed. This is not a bandwidth issue as I can run Bit Torrent (w/12k up)and MIRC at the same time and experience no problems at all with download speeds.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.


Windows XP Home (all patches updated)
Pentium 4 1.6 with 512 RAM
ADSL 768/128

Sygate Personal Firewall
0

#82 User is offline   aibarz 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: 20-August 03

Posted 10 September 2003 - 03:26 PM

Hengst, on Jan 29 2003, 04:42 PM, said:

I'm using ISS BlackIce PC Protection.
When eMule is running it reports malicious traffic from my machine in it's IDS nearly all the time. This is no real problem, since I have unchecked the "enable auto-blocking" option, but it is REALLY annoying. One can get rid of it by adding the IP to the "trusted adresses" entry, but with a dial-up connection (as in my case) this helps only until next re-dial...

Hi,

On ISS BlackIce exists an option that accept all the connection by a rules. So, you must go to the Tools menu, Advanced Firewall Settings and on the opened new window, add two rules. One is for the TCP port ( 4662 ) and another for the UDP Port (whatever) adding both with the options: accept forever, mode accepted, and all IP adresses activated.

Also you must check Nervous Mode or less on Blackice setting because paranoid mode stop all the traffic (also p2p). You can then activate autoblocking, internet file sharing and netBios (if you need it for a lan) options.

Also in my case, I detected some problems with P4 HyperTreading CPU, if I select the option to "force" emule.exe to work on one of the two CPU it crashes everytime. There is only one CPU in my PC but P4 HT tech. emulate two CPUs, so I can select for exemple CPU0 for Windows programs (except svchost) and CPU1 for others programs as emule, kazaa or openoffice, etc.

There is a firewall freeware program called NetPeeker that can run fine with emule but, if I activate the option to balance my conection (or limit the speed of a program as emule) both of them crash.
Regards

This post has been edited by aibarz: 10 September 2003 - 03:35 PM

0

#83 User is offline   rolanech 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 17-September 03

Posted 17 September 2003 - 03:43 AM

can somebody help me get a power point download?

thank you :)

This post has been edited by rolanech: 17 September 2003 - 03:45 AM

0

#84 User is offline   NynkeNL 

  • Splendid Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 25-July 03

Posted 25 September 2003 - 11:52 AM

@ rolanech Do I have to push or kick it real hard :confused: :lol:
0

#85 User is offline   avgasse 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 10-August 03

Posted 30 September 2003 - 10:28 PM

NynkeNL, on Sep 25 2003, 11:52 AM, said:

@ rolanech  Do I have to push or kick it real hard  :confused:  :lol:


I totally agree.
Please!!! :worthy:
We need some moderators here!
When will this forum get cleaned up???

Please delete this post and the 2 before that, they are absolutely NOT relevant to the topic!!!!! :furious:
0

#86 User is offline   clam 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 02-October 03

Posted 02 October 2003 - 09:17 PM

I have a problem with norton firewall and Emule.
It is worse When I use it for a LONG time, say emule is running 2-3 days in a row. But the situation starts getting bad after a couple hours of use.

This is waht happens : Imapp.exe (part of the norton firewall, that tracks connections starts using more and more CPCu cycles as it tries to monitor all incoming outgoing traffic. Net result : it ends up using 70-90 % of CPU making all other programs sluggish.

If I stop Emule it reverts to normal.. if I restart it it starts misbehaving again. Bleech.
0

#87 User is offline   MichelSup 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 15-September 02

Posted 03 October 2003 - 10:11 AM

hello,

I seen there is plenty of problems with firewalls and antivirus software.
Let me bring you my nearly 4 years use of p2p appz.

First of all : you need a machine wich can cope with what you ask it to do.
I mean running Emule on an old machine will not work, especially if you run FW and AV soft on side of it.
I split the explanation in two parts : connection and CPU wise.

Connection wise :
Looking back to history, most of OS'es/network softwares for the desktop users have been build to cope with about 10 concurent connections, wich was far enough for dial-up modems. (keep it in mind for later)

When Emule connects, it makes MAX CONNECTIONS at the same time. It consumes a lot of upload. Your upload becomes saturated as soon as you connect to a server. It's why you have slow connection then. You can't ask the website for all the content on the webpage. So you have a blank page for seconds.
The most important thing to know about ADSL technology is that download is reduced by 50-75% when upload is saturated. So reduce your MAX CONNECTIONS and reduce your UPLOAD LIMIT when you connect will helps.
Of course when you will have most of your sources you will be able to increase back the UPLOAD LIMIT to 80% of your theorical ASDL hardware limit.
Also the management of connections within Windows 9x/ME is very bad, so do not expect to have a nice network behaviour with these OS'es. A turnaround can be to tweak their registry to improve their capabilities a bit . Check http://www.speedguid...t/downloads.php for different patches but do not expect miracles.
On the side of this problem inherent to ADSL technology, there is the firewall management of these connections. Most of them can't handle 100+ concurent connections. Only a few can manage 600+. Also, Emule use dynamic ports, wich confuse most of them. I tried ALL of them, analysing for hours their behaviour(logs parsing, packet sniffing, cpu and RAM allocation measures). The conclusion is that only Sysgate Firewall works perfectly with Emule. Even the latest version of ZA or NortonPF drops packets or becomes instable after a while. I do not explain it further 'cause i don't want to make a 10 pages post, but I can discuss it more deeper. I want to precise I'm not involved in any way with Sygate company.
There is a free version of it on www.sygate.com, and the professional version works PERFECTLY with Windows ICS, wich means you can have a safe network, easy to use, and most of it Sygate do not consumes a lot of CPU. But I prefer to use a hardware firewall, it's far more safe but a lot more complicated to setup.

CPU side of the problem.
The CPU is not too much important on Emule on a powerfull system. But on low specs systems it can become problematic, especially with AV softwares and large files. NortonAV works very well with emule, with Windows W2k/XP indeed, and it might be the same with the others. If any AV is a problem on your system, remove the autoscan feature. It should save you a large amount of CPU.

Erf I'm tired I will continue this post later if you need more info or precisions.
Good luck.
0

#88 User is offline   flyaruu 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 08-October 03

Posted 08 October 2003 - 06:01 AM

I had a lot of problems with Ultrasniffer (A net monitoring tool).

At first I had some minor firewall problems, and I installed it to try to fix these.

But in the end, the firewall worked fine, but some component of ultrasniffer
(Called netpryer.sys) somehow made emule crash, even if I was not running ultrasniffer

I uninstalled it, and everything was fine
0

#89 User is offline   monkeypunk 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 10 October 2003 - 04:01 AM

Hi, I have emule 30b, 900 mhz with 512 ram. Everything was fine until i installed the new version of norton antivirus (2004). Now whenever i close down the mule, it takes about 5 minutes and norton throws up messages saying that it's waiting for a scan of various temp files and it uses up all of my ram. What should I do?
0

#90 User is offline   NynkeNL 

  • Splendid Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 25-July 03

Posted 10 October 2003 - 01:16 PM

Well what do you think of uninstalling NAV. :)
0

#91 User is offline   donq 

  • ya member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2697
  • Joined: 25-November 02

Posted 10 October 2003 - 07:39 PM

monkeypunk, on Oct 10 2003, 07:01 AM, said:

Hi, I have emule 30b, 900 mhz with 512 ram. Everything was fine until i installed the new version of norton antivirus (2004). Now whenever i close down the mule, it takes about 5 minutes and norton throws up messages saying that it's waiting for a scan of various temp files and it uses up all of my ram. What should I do?

You should disable real-time scan of eMule temporary folder.
I'm using to surf on :)
0

#92 User is offline   monkeypunk 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 11 October 2003 - 02:30 AM

THANKS FOR THE SUGGESTIONS. I WILL TRY THE SECOND FIRST (BECAUSE I KINDA LIKE NAV!) AND POST THE RESULTS. :thumbup:
0

#93 User is offline   monkeypunk 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 12 October 2003 - 05:56 AM

Worked like a charm!! Thanks for the help and...

LONG LIVE EMULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0

#94 User is offline   mcq3000 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 14-November 02

Posted 25 October 2003 - 03:42 AM

I have Norton Internet Security enabled and even though I have it enable all ports, e-mule doe snot work and gives port 4662 cannot be reached error. Now once I disable Norton FIrewall, it works, I have tried everything and it still does not work. And a long time ago it used to work with e-mule, I never had this problem until recently, I have tried fresh install, tried to configure Norton Firewall and even tried changing ports within e-mule and it doe snot work. I like to have Norton running at all times, anyone have any ideas?
0

#95 User is offline   Prospero424 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: 22-October 03

Posted 25 October 2003 - 05:25 AM

Well, after going nearly insane trying to find out why I was having problems connecting to servers, I found that Steganos Internet Anonymizer version 5 was causing the problem. It doesnt have to be running at all, just installed on the system to cause the problem, which I have reproduced. Here is the support forum thread describing the symptoms if anyone is interested:

http://www.emule-pro...showtopic=31655


BEWARE!!!!
0

#96 User is offline   SilverLancer 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 09-November 03

Posted 11 November 2003 - 03:13 AM

Archmage, on Jan 20 2003, 05:55 PM, said:

Windows 98 + Windows ME. Any eMule version highter than 0.22c will bring you big problems, if you have this OS.

Yeah... right...

All my WIN98SE computers (have 4 of them) have worked with no problems for years, through many reformats. My WINME computer has too.

GO WINDOWS 98! Die you bloated Xtra Painful Microshaft Product =)
0

#97 User is offline   Cassiel 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 26-January 03

Posted 12 November 2003 - 09:20 PM

MichelSup, on Oct 3 2003, 10:11 AM, said:

Also, Emule use dynamic ports, wich confuse most of them. I tried ALL of them, analysing for hours their behaviour(logs parsing, packet sniffing, cpu and RAM allocation measures). The conclusion is that only Sysgate Firewall works perfectly with Emule. Even the latest version of ZA or NortonPF drops packets or becomes instable after a while. I do not explain it further 'cause i don't want to make a 10 pages post, but I can discuss it more deeper. I want to precise I'm not involved in any way with Sygate company.

hello MichelSup

have you tried using emule with the outpost firewall pro 2.0? i just installed sygate personal firewall pro 5.5 and it works great, but i miss the flash/ad/popup blocker from norton internet security, and outpost has that feature.
0

#98 User is offline   node159 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 22-July 03

Post icon  Posted 07 December 2003 - 09:33 AM

General Firewall Info

eMule creates a lot of connections, this puts a heavy load on the networking subsystems and brings to light any problems/flaws that are inherent in the system. As a result a poorly made firewall/network stack will have any problems highlighted that may not show during ‘normal’ operation.

If your computer freezes and becomes unresponsive while running eMule it’s probably your firewall. This comes from a firewall that does not flush its connection table properly/at all, since most modern firewalls operate at a low level they will cause the operating system to halt while they inspect incoming packets and pass them on if they are ok. Normally this would happen very quickly and everything would be fine. But if the connection table becomes very large (like when eMule has been running for a while) and does not get flushed each packet that is inspected causes a pause on the system as the lookup time gets larger and larger.

A good firewall will flush TCP connections that have been closed and time out UTP 'connections'. This should result in a table that consists of only active connections. As a backup there should be a cleaner thread that goes through periodically invalidating and clearing entries that have not closed/timed out properly.

But alas, not all firewalls are created equal and as such most have problems dealing with eMule. Before you people who have ZA working fine harp up, be aware that the more connection that been created directly influences this behavior. So eMule may run fine if you have 2000 sources but may cause problems when you have 20,000, also factors such as max connections and connections per 5s can influence how many a created over a set period of time which determines the size of the connection table.

Also on another note, please be aware that some firewalls operate by use of virtual device driver, this results in the firewall client program to show no CPU usage, other like Norton have the main process doing the work and will show CPU usage.

PS: I’m a CompSci Major with a specialization in security so I sorta know what I’m talking about, but comments/criticism is most welcome.

This post has been edited by node159: 07 December 2003 - 09:35 AM

0

#99 User is offline   DazzaE2003 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 18-December 03

Posted 18 December 2003 - 05:15 PM

:furious: hmmm.... well i am kina angry at that fact that ZA is being such a pain in the AR*E !, it doesnt seem to want to work with emule which isn't gud, so then i decided to have a look round and see what other "firewalls" i could use hey presto i find and download sygate which will stop all intrusions into your computer dead ! + not work after one restart of pc due to errors, then i moved on to mcafee just stoped my pc dead and made me very laggy on MOHAA (which isnt gud !) so now ive decided to try tiny personal firewall (due to the amount of downloads!) and kerio firewall because thats had good reports of this forum !. It seems to me that any firewall we use somebody intrutes on me for example when i was useing mcafee i used the sygate trjan detection and found not 1 trojan but 4 even though i had mcafee firewall + virus protection on !!. Any way need to get that out my system because ive ben trying to fix this problem since 11:00am this morning (18 december 2003 !) and its now 5:15pm (18th december 2003) my girlfriend isnt talking to me now cuz i haven't spoke to her all day becaue of this ! SO LET ME THANK MCAFEE THE WAN*A'S !!! :furious:

Daz

:clap: P.S Ill get back to you all with my results of kerio and tiny :clap:
0

#100 User is offline   rossjman1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 03-January 04

Posted 04 January 2004 - 03:28 AM

I'm running Windows 98SE, AVG anti virus, Zone Alarm (freeware), and eMule .30e with no problems. I never had ZA on high protection, but when I load eMule and ZA at the same time I get the Blue Screen of Death.
0

  • Member Options

  • (8 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • Last »

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users