Official eMule-Board: Feature: Zz Slotfocus - Official eMule-Board

Jump to content


  • (7 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Last »

Feature: Zz Slotfocus Faster completion of chunks during UL

#41 User is offline   Andu 

  • Morph Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13009
  • Joined: 04-December 02

Posted 10 July 2004 - 02:31 PM

I don't think any mod will allow it. Often enough you wouldn't be able to saturate your upload bandwith which is more important for the network than low upload slot count.
Three Rings for the Elven-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Dwarf-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Men doomed to die,
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.


Dark Lord of the Forum


Morph your Mule

Need a little help with your MorphXT? Click here

0

#42 User is offline   SlugFiller 

  • The one and only master slug
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6988
  • Joined: 15-September 02

Posted 10 July 2004 - 03:23 PM

@BRAINman1974: How much are you trying to upload at? What's your upload bandwidth?

Two things might be happening:
1. These people are already downloading as fast as they can, but you have too much upload for them to occupy, so more are added to fill your upload. Limiting the number of slots wouldn't be good in this case, because then you won't be able to upload at full speed, which is bad for the network. Total upload speed counts more than which and how many people you upload to or what you're uploading.
2. You set your eMule to upload at more than what your connection is capable of. It tries to upload at that speed, fails, and thinks it's the remote users' fault(not downloading enough), and tries to get more of them, which doesn't help. Try turning on USS, and seeing what pings you're getting. Compare the bandwidth you set to the one you're actually uploading at. Lower your bandwidth to match what you're actually capable of uploading at(or 1 or 2 k/s less), and see if that helps.
Why haven't you clicked yet?

SlugFiller rule #1: Unsolicited PMs is the second most efficient method to piss me off.
SlugFiller rule #2: The first most efficient method is unsolicited eMails.
SlugFiller rule #3: If it started in a thread, it should end in the same thread.
SlugFiller rule #4: There is absolutely no reason to perform the same discussion twice in parallel, especially if one side is done via PM.
SlugFiller rule #5: Does it say "Group: Moderators" under my name? No? Then stop telling me about who you want to ban! I really don't care! Go bother a moderator.
SlugFiller rule #6: I can understand English, Hebrew, and a bit of Japanese(standard) and Chinese(mandarin), but if you speak to me in anything but English, do expect to be utterly ignored, at best.
0

#43 User is offline   Chuckster 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 16-July 04

Posted 16 July 2004 - 07:15 AM

I have read through here, and Brainman seems to hit on my subject.

I am trying to upload to a friend at (as fast as i can) at 90 KB/s, but when I do this it adds more users to the list and actually DROPS my friends download speed to 5 kb/s. I have messed around with the upload limit and have it set to 26. After I put it to 27, more people are being added to the list, and people are going from trickling to transfering.

Is their a way I can set it to all out max, without any more users being added and any of the users STAYING as a trickling type thing...?

I believe I am in the right topic section, cause it all sounds close to what im dealing with.

Thanks for your time.
0

#44 User is offline   Motte 

  • French Translator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1574
  • Joined: 10-March 03

Posted 16 July 2004 - 11:22 AM

ED2K network is not done for private exchanges ! Hopefully.
If you want to do that, other P2P clients are more adapted.
New : Test my eMule Skin Package
Forum Lepicea.net : Entraide, Partage, Informatique, Culture, Echange, Actualité
0

#45 User is offline   Grease 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 30-January 03

Posted 16 July 2004 - 06:26 PM

@Chuckster:

If you are using the zzul mod and your friend got a friend slot from you, then he should occupy upload slot 1. Upload slot 1 should get so much bandwidth as the client can handle. If he can use all of your upload bandwidth, he should get it except a few trickle slots. You probably know that uploading to friends is not counted to your session ratio, so this will restrict your downloads. It is OK to upload to friends with all bandwidth, zzul-mod takes care that you can't leech the network (too much) at the same time. ("Private exchanges" do not necessarily harm the network and it can have its uses some times. ZZ have included friendslots for situations where you would use FTP but can't.)
If emule do not behave like I described, there must be some bug. Bandwidth distribution between the slots works for me like it should. Maybe there is some problem with friends slots - I have not used them and and do not know.
0

#46 User is offline   spamla 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 13-March 05

Posted 13 March 2005 - 11:52 PM

thanks for the mod. It's exactly what I was looking for and I believe it will speed up the whole network A LOT :o)
0

#47 User is offline   death2all 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 03-July 05

Posted 03 July 2005 - 05:45 AM

been looking for something like this for awhile, but it doesnt seem to be working for me. i dont see "On hold (trickling)" and have ~24 uploads going my connection is 3000/768 DSL and i usually upload at 60kB (so i dont choke my connection). i DLed ZZUL to limit the amount of clients i'm uploading to at 4 or 5 instead of 20+. i'm not trying to get around sharing/uploading, i just want to complete my uploads faster, so my downloads are faster.
0

#48 User is offline   CiccioBastardo 

  • Doomsday Executor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 5541
  • Joined: 22-November 03

Posted 03 July 2005 - 11:03 AM

death2all, on Jul 3 2005, 06:45 AM, said:

been looking for something like this for awhile, but it doesnt seem to be working for me. i dont see "On hold (trickling)" and have ~24 uploads going my connection is 3000/768 DSL and i usually upload at 60kB (so i dont choke my connection). i DLed ZZUL to limit the amount of clients i'm uploading to at 4 or 5 instead of 20+. i'm not trying to get around sharing/uploading, i just want to complete my uploads faster, so my downloads are faster.
View Post


Hi,
slotfocus works together the activation of USS that can be found in the extended features tab in the preferences.
If you need other info on how to set it just ask.
You can see slotfocus is working as you will be uploading to a client (or maybe two) at very high speed and to some few others (depending on many factors) at much slower speed. I have a 256Kb/s line and slotfocus usually opens no more than 4/5 slots (included a couple of trickle ones).
The problem is not the client, it's the user
0

#49 User is offline   death2all 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 03-July 05

Post icon  Posted 03 July 2005 - 03:37 PM

thanx for the help. i checked off "find best upload limit automatically" and set "lowest allowed upload speed" to 20. the rest of the settings i left alone. is that all i have to do? right now my uploads are at 21, 19, 14, 7KB (w/ a few under 3KB) (couldnt figure out how to attach image :( ). i don't see "On hold (trickling)", just "Standby" though. this is better than nothing (or a whole bunch at ~5KB), but is there a way to actually choose the speeds or number of uploads? like 1 @ 60KB or 2 @ 30KB?
0

#50 User is offline   CiccioBastardo 

  • Doomsday Executor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 5541
  • Joined: 22-November 03

Posted 03 July 2005 - 05:23 PM

Hi.
The only thing you have to do is configuring the USS to work best with your connection. Usually he default values are o, bu if you see the upload bandwith wobbling up and down then you maybe have to touch them a bit.

No, there's no way to choose the speed as slotfocus is already designed to give all the upload bandwidth to the first slot, if the user connected to it can suck that much. If not, the remaining bandwidth is given to slot 2, and so on. So practically you are already serving the users downloading from you the best you can. The limitation is on their part, not yours.
The problem is not the client, it's the user
0

#51 User is offline   zz 

  • -
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Debugger
  • Posts: 2014
  • Joined: 30-November 02

Posted 03 July 2005 - 10:49 PM

Seems to be working based on the speeds you list.

I changed "Trickle" to "Standby" a while ago, but have probably forgotten to update the documentation in quite a few places.

Trickle = On Hold = Standby

/zz B)
ZZUL - get control of your uploads: ZZUL Forum
0

#52 User is offline   xalbux 

  • Splendid Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 239
  • Joined: 05-October 02

Posted 26 July 2005 - 07:19 PM

Hi,

I think there might be a problem with the standby slots.

Some friends and me are sharing files in a closed ed2k betwork.
Different clients are used.I do run the latest testverion of zz (2005-07).

Sometimes clients from my upload queue suddenly get disconnected and thrown out of the queue. I observed some of the disconnects and found a reproducable scheme.

These are the conditions:
Client is in the upload queue with a trickle/standby slot.
No transfer from that client in the download list.

Now my zz mod sends a reask for the partstatus. Sometimes when the trickle slot transfers a minimum amount of data the partstatus reask is answered and everything is fine. But sometimes the request remains unanswered. The asking icon in the download shows for quite a long time. Then the client is removed from the upload and the download list. An entry in the verbose log is generated:

25.07.2005 23:53:14: Disconnected client removed from upload queue and waiting list: IP 'client name' (eMule v0.46b [ZZUL 20050705-2002],Connected/Uploading/None)
25.07.2005 23:53:14: Removing client from upload list: Timeout: State:2 Client: IP 'client name' (eMule v0.46b [ZZUL 20050705-2002],Connected/Uploading/None)

I don't think that this is caused by a particular client software on the opposite because I saw these disconnects with different clients downloading from me (original eMule, eMule Plus, and zz mod). These disconnects don't occur when the reask is send while the client has a non standby upload slot.

I don't know how eMule protocol works in detail. But I think the following happens:
The reask is sent using the established socket to save overhead. The standby slot causes a pause or delay in the data transfer which is longer than the defined timeout for the answer packet.

Thanks for any help.
0

#53 User is offline   zz 

  • -
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Debugger
  • Posts: 2014
  • Joined: 30-November 02

Posted 26 July 2005 - 07:27 PM

Hm, a client shouldn't reask for a file if it's already downloading?

I'm not sure I understand what's happening.

Partstatus etc is send with control packets (iirc), and those are always sent first, not trickled.

/zz B)
ZZUL - get control of your uploads: ZZUL Forum
0

#54 User is offline   Xman1 

  • Xtreme Modder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1955
  • Joined: 21-June 03

Posted 26 July 2005 - 07:52 PM

@zz:
I think it's this:
you are uploading with trickle-speed and are just beginning a new standardpacket (10 kb)... next is, you send a file-request... this packet is queued up... now it could take too much time, until the standard-packet is sent and the control-packet can be send. Because we don't care about a trickle-uploadslot, this clients timeout if the packet wasn't sent the next 40 seconds.
just a simple calculation:
trickle-speed of 0.2 kbs (I think this is the official speed, isn't it ?)
means: 50 seconds until a standardpacket is sent... but timeout is 40 seconds.

I saw simular problems some time ago, that was the reason why I set the trickle-speed of my mod to 0.5 kbs.
0

#55 User is offline   zz 

  • -
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Debugger
  • Posts: 2014
  • Joined: 30-November 02

Posted 26 July 2005 - 08:16 PM

Ah, so you are talking about when you are already trickling data to the remote client and then YOU send a file request? Sorry, read you wrong there.

There is code in uint32 CEMSocket::GetNeededBytes() that checks for that, and speeds up the trickling until the control packet has been sent off. Though maybe there's something broken.

/zz B)

This post has been edited by zz: 26 July 2005 - 08:18 PM

ZZUL - get control of your uploads: ZZUL Forum
0

#56 User is offline   Xman1 

  • Xtreme Modder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1955
  • Joined: 21-June 03

Posted 26 July 2005 - 09:45 PM

I just looked at the GetNeededBytes.. (Xtreme Mod doesn't use it).. it should accelerate upload... but I saw myself, it takes too often too long time until a client, I want to upload, send it's blockrequest, when this client is uploading too me with trickle-speed at the same time.
0

#57 User is offline   xalbux 

  • Splendid Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 239
  • Joined: 05-October 02

Posted 27 July 2005 - 06:37 AM

@zz

Right.
The reask is not sent while my client is downloading from the other.
But a reask is sent from mine while I'm uploading to the other client.
No problem at normal speed but timeouts when the upload is in standby/trickle.
Of course there's no problem when no transfers are running and the reask is sent.

@Xman1
Could You please tell me how to raise the speed of the standby/trickle slots?
I'd like to do a recompile for retesting that issue.
0

#58 User is offline   Xman1 

  • Xtreme Modder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1955
  • Joined: 21-June 03

Posted 27 July 2005 - 07:04 AM

as I mentioned above, Xtreme Mod uses an absolutly different code for the trickle-speed.
But you can do it at emsocket::getneededbytes
look there and you'll find two values ... just increase this values.
0

#59 User is offline   LD86 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 584
  • Joined: 12-December 02

Posted 15 August 2005 - 08:08 PM

has anyone an idea why the official emule still has no slotfocus? especially when ZZ also works on the official emule...
0

#60 User is offline   Motte 

  • French Translator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1574
  • Joined: 10-March 03

Posted 20 August 2005 - 09:39 PM

It should be optionnal in official, but yes, it's sad it is not included :(.
Especially as zz slotfocus is the best working one.
But we must keep hope :flowers:
New : Test my eMule Skin Package
Forum Lepicea.net : Entraide, Partage, Informatique, Culture, Echange, Actualité
0

  • Member Options

  • (7 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Last »

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users