Official eMule-Board: [Solved] Windows 7 Blocking All Ports - No Firewall, No Router - Official eMule-Board

Jump to content


Page 1 of 1

[Solved] Windows 7 Blocking All Ports - No Firewall, No Router (Comodo was the problem..)

#1 User is offline   Svampen 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 04-December 11

Posted 04 December 2011 - 05:33 PM

I'm using the same direct 100M/10M network connection with no modem or router, but changed the computer from one with WinXP to one with Windows 7 64-bit. Network adapter is Intel 82566DM. Windows Firewall is Disabled. All incoming ports appear to be blocked. Is this some hidden defect in Windows 7?

This post has been edited by Svampen: 08 December 2011 - 09:14 PM

0

#2 User is offline   xilolee 

  • eMule 0.50b BETA1 user
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 7907
  • Joined: 20-August 08

Posted 04 December 2011 - 06:28 PM

Have you disabled Windows firewall in control panel?
Or have you stopped the win firewall/ics service?
INCONCEIVABLE! - You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
come ottenere aiuto italian guides - guide della sezione italiana
italian support - sezione italiana scaricare la lista server
ottenere id alto impostare le porte nel router
recuperare file corrotti i filtri ip
Sembra talco ma non č serve a darti l'allegrIa! Se lo lanci e poi lo respiri ti dā subito l'allegrIa! Immagine Postata
0

#3 User is offline   Svampen 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 04-December 11

Posted 05 December 2011 - 09:29 AM

View Postxilolee, on 04 December 2011 - 08:28 PM, said:

Have you disabled Windows firewall in control panel?
Or have you stopped the win firewall/ics service?


First I "turned the firewall off" and then disabled it from the services. My Internet Connection Service (ICS) is also disabled. I also tried alternating between "Home" and "Public" network types, but no effect.

I just tested with Comodo turned off completely (disabled service also) and turned the Windows firewall ON, allowed eMule - still LowID / ports blocked. Previously I had also tested with Comodo AND Windows Firewall completely disabled.

I'm using the exact same ports as with XP and with the XP comp I can still get a HighID no problem.

This post has been edited by Svampen: 05 December 2011 - 10:28 AM

0

#4 User is offline   xilolee 

  • eMule 0.50b BETA1 user
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 7907
  • Joined: 20-August 08

Posted 05 December 2011 - 11:06 PM

Try without firewalls enabled, but with win fw/ics service STARTED ;)
If you want to completely turn off the win firewall, you can try later (when you'll get high-id) reading this qm2003's post (click)
INCONCEIVABLE! - You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
come ottenere aiuto italian guides - guide della sezione italiana
italian support - sezione italiana scaricare la lista server
ottenere id alto impostare le porte nel router
recuperare file corrotti i filtri ip
Sembra talco ma non č serve a darti l'allegrIa! Se lo lanci e poi lo respiri ti dā subito l'allegrIa! Immagine Postata
0

#5 User is offline   Svampen 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 04-December 11

Posted 06 December 2011 - 07:53 AM

View Postxilolee, on 06 December 2011 - 01:06 AM, said:

Try without firewalls enabled, but with win fw/ics service STARTED ;)
If you want to completely turn off the win firewall, you can try later (when you'll get high-id) reading this qm2003's post (click)


In Windows 7, those are two different services. When I try to start ICS, it says the service "started and then stopped. Some services stop automatically if they are not in use by other services or programs." However, I doubt ICS is relevant here.
I get a LowID when trying without firewalls, but with Windows Firewall service enabled.

Re: qm2003's post, there is no "IP network address translator" in Windows 7.

This post has been edited by Svampen: 06 December 2011 - 08:04 AM

0

#6 User is offline   xilolee 

  • eMule 0.50b BETA1 user
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 7907
  • Joined: 20-August 08

Posted 07 December 2011 - 06:10 PM

Then, post these informations:

1) Make sure you know how to reset (to factory defaults) your device and note down the data for connecting to your ISP.
(in case of troubles, you can reset the router and you'll need those data - vpi - vci - username and password of your connection, and so forth... these data are personal/private, you_SHOULD_NOT_post_them_here --- ONLY you should know them).
2) name of your ISP, name of your connection and, possibly, downstream and upstream bandwiths
3) How many servers do you have into your list and where do you get them from?
4) Manufacturer and model of your router?
5) Describe how your devices are arranged.
example:
- telephone jack - adsl filter - ethernet modem - router - 3 pc (1 wireless, 2 wired)
6) How many pcs are using p2p programs (emule or others) and which ports they are using.
7) Screenshots of your router menus are welcome:
- UPNP
- DHCP
- virtual server/port forwarding or similar
- eventual firewall screen (of your router)
8) Have you put static ip to your pc (into tcp/ip properties of your connection properties)?
Here too, a screenshot would be welcome.
9) Which firewalls/antiviruses are present/installed on your pc?
10) Are you using peerguardian/peerblock/ip filters or similars? And what of those?
INCONCEIVABLE! - You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
come ottenere aiuto italian guides - guide della sezione italiana
italian support - sezione italiana scaricare la lista server
ottenere id alto impostare le porte nel router
recuperare file corrotti i filtri ip
Sembra talco ma non č serve a darti l'allegrIa! Se lo lanci e poi lo respiri ti dā subito l'allegrIa! Immagine Postata
0

#7 User is offline   Svampen 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 04-December 11

Posted 07 December 2011 - 07:48 PM

As I said in my o.p., I have no router and instead it is a direct ethernet connection (100M/10M), which works just fine in Windows XP. ISP is Sonera and they don't block any ports. Same number of servers as in my XP machine, from http://peerates.net/servers.php
IP is not static.
As I mentioned, I have Comodo, but have tested without it. I have also Peerblock, but have tested without it and it should of course be enabled.

I'm currently on my XP machine, eMule has a HighId.

This post has been edited by Svampen: 07 December 2011 - 07:50 PM

0

#8 User is offline   Svampen 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 04-December 11

Posted 08 December 2011 - 10:20 AM

I just found out the culprit is the Comodo *driver* - so even though I disabled and shut down Comodo, the problem remained. I realized this when I booted into Safe Mode with Network and got a HighID in eMule. Safe Mode loads only the basic amount of drivers, so I thought "what if it's the Comodo driver?". I uninstalled Comodo and lo and behold, got a HighID! But now I would like to know, if I really have to ditch Comodo.. I'd better head off into their forums. I hope this helps somebody and maybe I should change the original post title.
Edit: ahh.. I can't, but if some moderator wants, he can add [SOLVED] and "Comodo driver was guilty" or something!

This post has been edited by Svampen: 08 December 2011 - 10:21 AM

0

#9 User is offline   xilolee 

  • eMule 0.50b BETA1 user
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 7907
  • Joined: 20-August 08

Posted 08 December 2011 - 11:36 AM

well done!
I think you should be able to edit your first post, using full editor.
cheers :)
INCONCEIVABLE! - You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
come ottenere aiuto italian guides - guide della sezione italiana
italian support - sezione italiana scaricare la lista server
ottenere id alto impostare le porte nel router
recuperare file corrotti i filtri ip
Sembra talco ma non č serve a darti l'allegrIa! Se lo lanci e poi lo respiri ti dā subito l'allegrIa! Immagine Postata
0

#10 User is offline   Svampen 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 04-December 11

Posted 08 December 2011 - 02:20 PM

This was the offending rule in Comodo: Network Security Policy - Global Rules - Block IP from MAC Any to MAC Any
However: I seem to have a problem with connecting to the KAD network! Port test launched from eMule says my UDP port is also open, but KAD just remains disconnected. And this was also when I had uninstalled Comodo completely (and when I boot into Safe Mode).

This post has been edited by Svampen: 08 December 2011 - 02:23 PM

0

#11 User is offline   xilolee 

  • eMule 0.50b BETA1 user
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 7907
  • Joined: 20-August 08

Posted 08 December 2011 - 02:29 PM

check this post (click) :punk:
INCONCEIVABLE! - You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
come ottenere aiuto italian guides - guide della sezione italiana
italian support - sezione italiana scaricare la lista server
ottenere id alto impostare le porte nel router
recuperare file corrotti i filtri ip
Sembra talco ma non č serve a darti l'allegrIa! Se lo lanci e poi lo respiri ti dā subito l'allegrIa! Immagine Postata
0

#12 User is offline   Svampen 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 04-December 11

Posted 08 December 2011 - 09:19 PM

View Postxilolee, on 08 December 2011 - 04:29 PM, said:



One of those "Homer Simpson -moments".. Yes, actually having some downloads instead of an empty mule sure made a difference! Thanks for all your efforts in replying and getting my trusty old farm animal healthy again.
0

  • Member Options

Page 1 of 1

Fast Reply

  

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users