Official eMule-Board: Cannot Start Emule Anymore - Official eMule-Board

Jump to content


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

Cannot Start Emule Anymore eMule will not run after update

#1 User is offline   falcocherrug 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Post icon  Posted 02 March 2009 - 05:24 AM

After upgrading to 0.49c, eMule will not start anymore, i.e. when I click on the shortcut, absolutely nothing happens.

Tried removing all eMule files and do a new install, but no joy (tried with both the installer and the binary files).

Any help more than welcome,

falco
0

#2 User is offline   jestheonlyone 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4346
  • Joined: 18-July 04

Posted 02 March 2009 - 12:14 PM

hi

maybe another instance of emule is already running? (press alt+ctrl+del to verify in the task manager)
my latest favorite jamendo album (Creative Commons license): CraZyH et Djézinho - Prémis N'1
Could be considered as the male counterpart to zap mama. It's really worth a try, even if you hate hip-hop...
Jamendo tags = beatbox electro ethnique experimental hiphop lounge percussions ragga rap reggae scat soft triphop world


--------------------------------------------------------

Pris pour des vaches à lait par les industries du disque... Maintenant boycottons-les!!!
0

#3 User is offline   xilolee 

  • eMule 0.50b BETA1 user
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 7907
  • Joined: 20-August 08

Posted 02 March 2009 - 06:25 PM

otherwise: how to get support (click me) :bouncehi:

This post has been edited by xilolee: 21 October 2010 - 03:44 AM

INCONCEIVABLE! - You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
come ottenere aiuto italian guides - guide della sezione italiana
italian support - sezione italiana scaricare la lista server
ottenere id alto impostare le porte nel router
recuperare file corrotti i filtri ip
Sembra talco ma non è serve a darti l'allegrIa! Se lo lanci e poi lo respiri ti dà subito l'allegrIa! Immagine Postata
0

#4 User is offline   falcocherrug 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Posted 02 March 2009 - 10:48 PM

Quote

maybe another instance of eMule is already running?


Thanks jestheonlyone, but that was one of the first things I checked, nothing running in the background.

Quote

otherwise: how to get support (click me


Not sure what you mean, xilolee. I did read "before you post", so?
0

#5 User is offline   Nissenice 

  • clippetty-clopping...
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4231
  • Joined: 05-January 06

Posted 03 March 2009 - 06:34 AM

View Postfalcocherrug, on Mar 2 2009, 11:48 PM, said:

I did read "before you post", so?

Did you grasp anything? :D
0

#6 User is offline   falcocherrug 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Posted 03 March 2009 - 07:20 AM

Quote

Did you grasp anything?


Obviously not, as I haven't got a clue what you are referring to. Read the thread again, it does not mention anywhere that I cannot post a query if I cannot find a solution elsewhere.

I have searched other posts; whilst there are a lot of posts dealing with eMule not downloading and the like, I did not see a post that dealt with eMule just not starting anymore after an upgrade.
0

#7 User is offline   JAW 

  • Magnificent Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 368
  • Joined: 04-November 02

Posted 03 March 2009 - 09:53 AM

Well, take a second look at the post xilolee linked to! Specifically point 5.

These friendly support people here are trying to hint at the fact that, sadly, their magic crystal ball broke some time ago. So they can't scry the information about the configuration of your PC anymore. You will have to tell them yourself. Otherwise we can only guess what might be the problem. You didn't even state the most obvious: Your operating system.
0

#8 User is offline   falcocherrug 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Posted 03 March 2009 - 11:28 AM

Duh!!!!! My apologies :-k

Having said that,I need to repeat: eMule worked fine until I downloaded and installed the latest update. Config of the PC did not change in between and, as I cannot start eMule, "eMule Settings" and "eMule General" does not apply.

Pc Configuration
- Operating System: Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 3
- Internet connection type (Bandwidth, Eg: 1024/320 DSL) Not sure, though it probably has little to do with the fact that eMule won't start
- Modem, Router, Proxy (manufacturer and model) Intel® 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection
- Firewalls Windows Firewall
- Antivirus avast!
- Spyware detector Spybot SD
- Emule Version 0.49c
0

#9 User is offline   xscarab 

  • Mrs Chief Mumpopo 'Monkeyballs' Umboga III
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4333
  • Joined: 22-February 04

Posted 03 March 2009 - 12:36 PM

Does the shortcut still point to the emule.exe?

Does it start if you try and run it from the exe rather than from the shortcut?
Are we nearly there yet?
0

#10 User is offline   Dick_Manitoba 

  • Nyet Nyet Soviet Soviet Jewellery
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1823
  • Joined: 17-August 04

Posted 03 March 2009 - 05:28 PM

Double check on your filewall and antivirus as well. If either have been instructed to prevent the updated executable from running, double-clicking the icon will result in nothing happening.

Visit PunkHistoryCanada.ca and enjoy it's music at PHC Radio. Listen now!
::How To:: Learn about IP filters and fake files :: Info & Lists of Real and Fake servers
Remove Fake Servers & get good ones :: Post pictures on the web, no registration req'd
::Helpful sites:: DVD tools, tutorials, etc :: VLC video without codecs :: Codec info & downloads
GSpot Codec IDer :: Can't delete Locked files? :: Freedb aware players
::Free Virus Scans:: Trend Micro Housecall, Panda ActiveScan, Kaspersky Virusscanner, BitDefender
::My Favorite Applications::
::Archives:: IZarc : 7-Zip : WinRAR : WinACE : Any-OS Zip Tools and Source code - Info-ZIP
::Audio:: EAC : LAME : MP3 Book Helper (Tags etc)
0

#11 User is offline   falcocherrug 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Posted 04 March 2009 - 01:55 AM

xscarab, the shortcut links correctly and I have tried starting eMule directly from the exe.

Dick_Manitoba, eMule is excluded in the Firewall settings and I do not see Avast! or Spybot blocking the program anywhere :ranting:
0

#12 User is offline   tHeWiZaRdOfDoS 

  • Man, what a bunch of jokers...
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5630
  • Joined: 28-December 02

Posted 04 March 2009 - 06:20 AM

Did you check the windows eventlog to see what's going on?
0

#13 User is offline   falcocherrug 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-March 09

Posted 04 March 2009 - 08:26 AM

Quote

Did you check the windows eventlog to see what's going on?


Nothing there that seems to relate to eMule. I am going crazy :bouncehi:
0

#14 User is offline   xscarab 

  • Mrs Chief Mumpopo 'Monkeyballs' Umboga III
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4333
  • Joined: 22-February 04

Posted 04 March 2009 - 09:02 AM

When you search your computer, how many emule.exe files do you find? (include hidden and system in the search) Can we assume emule is not on an external hdd or memory stick etc?

If it's definitely just the one occurrence, you could try deleting the config folder and moving the files out of the temp and incoming folders - in case any of those files are problematic. Or even move all the emule folders & files out of the emule folder and try the exe again.

Finally try moving the whole emule folder contents elsewhere to backup and deleting the exe, delete the empty folder then try a bare bones install (Create a folder on your hard drive and called it emule test - avoid program folder & profile folders etc. so it's in location such as C:\emule test Download the binaries from the Downloads link at the top of the page (avoid clicking on the download links from any google ads that may appear). Extract the binaries and place JUST the emule.exe inside the emule test folder. Try double clicking this.)
(the backed-up files can always be replaced/re-imported later)

(fyi - the only reasons I can recall from this forum previously for members having emule startup problems before are: wrong shortcut address, already running and in the taskbar, (and you've ruled out those 2) a problem config file, or problem file in temp or incoming folders)
Are we nearly there yet?
0

#15 User is offline   buttercups 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 08-March 09

Posted 08 March 2009 - 07:52 AM

I just installed the new version and ran into the same problem i have tried multiple times with people on irc .049b to help me and nothing all ideas they had helped. i was forced to reinstall 0.49b
0

#16 User is offline   xilolee 

  • eMule 0.50b BETA1 user
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 7907
  • Joined: 20-August 08

Posted 08 March 2009 - 10:23 AM

@buttercups

give us these infos (click me) (open your own topic) :bouncehi:

This post has been edited by xilolee: 10 June 2010 - 04:43 PM

INCONCEIVABLE! - You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
come ottenere aiuto italian guides - guide della sezione italiana
italian support - sezione italiana scaricare la lista server
ottenere id alto impostare le porte nel router
recuperare file corrotti i filtri ip
Sembra talco ma non è serve a darti l'allegrIa! Se lo lanci e poi lo respiri ti dà subito l'allegrIa! Immagine Postata
0

#17 User is offline   jestheonlyone 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4346
  • Joined: 18-July 04

Posted 08 March 2009 - 07:36 PM

you could try this:
- open regedit
- navigate to the HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\eMule key
- set the dword UsePublicUserDirectories value to 2 (-> config folder inside emule dir)
- if there's already a preferences.ini in the emule\config folder, open it and change the Port value to a random number between 1024 and 65535; save the file
- then try again to start emule
my latest favorite jamendo album (Creative Commons license): CraZyH et Djézinho - Prémis N'1
Could be considered as the male counterpart to zap mama. It's really worth a try, even if you hate hip-hop...
Jamendo tags = beatbox electro ethnique experimental hiphop lounge percussions ragga rap reggae scat soft triphop world


--------------------------------------------------------

Pris pour des vaches à lait par les industries du disque... Maintenant boycottons-les!!!
0

#18 User is offline   buttercups 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 08-March 09

Posted 12 March 2009 - 04:41 AM

sorry was out at sea for a few days

Pc Configuration
- windows xp service pack 3
- cable
- scientific atlanta 2100
- sygate/iolo personal firewall
- Iolo Antivirus
- Iolo spyware remover
- 0.49c
0

#19 User is offline   xilolee 

  • eMule 0.50b BETA1 user
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 7907
  • Joined: 20-August 08

Posted 12 March 2009 - 05:01 AM

hi

@buttercups and @falcocherrug
do you have nvidia video card?


Can Not Upgrade From 49b To 49c. Bug?

same issue with this user: Da 0.49b A 0.49c ..e Ora Non Si Avvia Più!

windows xp sp3
windows firewall
upnp enabled
antivirus antivir


new bug? :confused:

This post has been edited by xilolee: 10 June 2010 - 04:43 PM

INCONCEIVABLE! - You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
come ottenere aiuto italian guides - guide della sezione italiana
italian support - sezione italiana scaricare la lista server
ottenere id alto impostare le porte nel router
recuperare file corrotti i filtri ip
Sembra talco ma non è serve a darti l'allegrIa! Se lo lanci e poi lo respiri ti dà subito l'allegrIa! Immagine Postata
0

#20 User is offline   buttercups 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 08-March 09

Posted 12 March 2009 - 05:55 AM

yes i hav an nvidia video card
0

  • Member Options

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users