Official eMule-Board: Assert In Tag.h - Official eMule-Board

Jump to content


Page 1 of 1

Assert In Tag.h why.

#1 User is offline   leuk_he 

  • MorphXT team.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5975
  • Joined: 11-August 04

Posted 03 February 2007 - 10:34 AM

In debug mode i freqeunt get an assert in tag.h:

....
class CKadTag
....
virtual uint64 GetInt() const
{
ASSERT(0);
return 0;
}


Why?

This post has been edited by leuk_he: 03 February 2007 - 01:58 PM

Download the MorphXT emule mod here: eMule Morph mod

Trouble connecting to a server? Use kad and /or refresh your server list
Strange search results? Check for fake servers! Or download morph, enable obfuscated server required, and far less fake server seen.

Looking for morphXT translators. If you want to translate the morph strings please come here (you only need to be able to write, no coding required. ) Covered now: cn,pt(br),it,es_t,fr.,pl Update needed:de,nl
-Morph FAQ [English wiki]--Het grote emule topic deel 13 [Nederlands]
if you want to send a message i will tell you to open op a topic in the forum. Other forum lurkers might be helped as well.
0

#2 User is offline   tHeWiZaRdOfDoS 

  • Man, what a bunch of jokers...
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5630
  • Joined: 28-December 02

Posted 03 February 2007 - 11:14 PM

Obviously KAD tags aren't supposed to support ints > _UI32_MAX (yet?) - where do those asserts originate? I ran eMule for hours in debug mode but no asserts so far...
0

#3 User is offline   erpirata 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: 28-December 06

Posted 17 February 2007 - 08:03 AM

you resolve the problem if reset your fix with that original of emule

This post has been edited by erpirata: 17 February 2007 - 10:53 AM

0

#4 User is offline   tHeWiZaRdOfDoS 

  • Man, what a bunch of jokers...
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5630
  • Joined: 28-December 02

Posted 17 February 2007 - 07:38 PM

What fix are you talkin' about?
Considering your latest contributions and "bug fixes" I guess it'd be better to just ignore your posts until you can distinguish bugs, asserts and mere warnings...
0

#5 User is offline   erpirata 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: 28-December 06

Posted 17 February 2007 - 11:29 PM

View PosttHeWiZaRdOfDoS, on Feb 17 2007, 08:38 PM, said:

What fix are you talkin' about?
Considering your latest contributions and "bug fixes" I guess it'd be better to just ignore your posts until you can distinguish bugs, asserts and mere warnings...

I make a report on me the present fix on the morph, because I have found this problem only trying the morph, if you is compares the version of the morph with emule excluding the functions added himself you find launch fix and this fix causes this error.

Consider that if I try only emule (original) doesn't give me this error and if try the morph gives the error, in accordance with you, does will be to mean?

For me every message during the compilation is problem to resolve, because it means that something goes fixed, independently from her gravity. It same farewell for the deriving messages from the debug.

I am able is inexperienced in comparison with you but am not stupid, give me some month and you will see that am able arrive to your level, if doesn't overcome you (perhaps).

Remembered that is not ended never to learn, and some times you even learns from the stupids. Then you is not wise, behaviour the superiors and ignore them.

The solutions of the times are more simple, of what is thinks.

This post has been edited by erpirata: 18 February 2007 - 02:27 AM

0

#6 User is offline   CiccioBastardo 

  • Doomsday Executor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 5541
  • Joined: 22-November 03

Posted 23 February 2007 - 10:35 PM

Consider a good thing also to invest at least 10% of the time you are going to use for learning programming also to learn a bit of English. To a level that doesn't require me to use google translator to revert your paragraphs into italian to understand them.
Thanks
The problem is not the client, it's the user
0

#7 User is offline   stormy1777 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 06-April 03

Posted 30 June 2008 - 02:25 PM

I also see similar asserts in debug mode only, stack and some code as follows:

emule.exe!Kademlia::CKadTag::GetStr()  Line 159	C++
			virtual CKadTagValueString GetStr() const
			{
**>				ASSERT(0);
				return L"";
			}

emule.exe!Kademlia::CSearch::ProcessResultFile(const Kademlia::CUInt128 & uAnswer={...}, std::list<Kademlia::CKadTag *,std::allocator<Kademlia::CKadTag *> > * plistInfo=0x046173b8)  Line 860 + 0x11	C++
		else if (!pTag->m_name.Compare(TAG_BUDDYHASH))
		{
**>			strmd4(pTag->GetStr(), ucharBuddyHash);
			md4cpy(uBuddy.GetDataPtr(), ucharBuddyHash);
		}
		else if (!pTag->m_name.Compare(TAG_ENCRYPTION))
			byCryptOptions = (uint8)pTag->GetInt();
emule.exe!Kademlia::CSearch::ProcessResult(const Kademlia::CUInt128 & uAnswer={...}, std::list<Kademlia::CKadTag *,std::allocator<Kademlia::CKadTag *> > * plistInfo=0x046173b8)  Line 814	C++
emule.exe!Kademlia::CSearchManager::ProcessResult(const Kademlia::CUInt128 & uTarget={...}, const Kademlia::CUInt128 & uAnswer={...}, std::list<Kademlia::CKadTag *,std::allocator<Kademlia::CKadTag *> > * plistInfo=0x046173b8)  Line 607	C++
emule.exe!Kademlia::CKademliaUDPListener::Process_KADEMLIA_SEARCH_RES(const unsigned char * pbyPacketData=0x04c55fda, unsigned int uLenPacket=3558)  Line 1325 + 0x11	C++


only solution was to rebuild without debug.. I don't know how to only compile a few without without debug..
just reporting.. I will try to drop the .release objects and see if I can relink the binary 'partly debug' :)

thanks.
0

#8 User is offline   Some Support 

  • Last eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Yes
  • Posts: 3667
  • Joined: 27-June 03

Posted 30 June 2008 - 06:52 PM

Asserts only fire in Debug-Builds, in this case its that a remote client has sent a Tag which we expect to be a String value, but it isn't. Most likely the remote client is not a official eMule build and misusing this tag for something else.
Nothing bad happens in this case through.

#9 User is offline   stormy1777 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 06-April 03

Posted 01 July 2008 - 05:40 AM

OK!! got it! thanks for the simple explanation, I really appreciate it!
I'm going to do a good deed today as repayment to the Universe :)
0

  • Member Options

Page 1 of 1

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users