Official eMule-Board: Emule Tells Me I Have A Low-id! - Official eMule-Board

Jump to content


  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Emule Tells Me I Have A Low-id! What is it and what do I do?

#1 User is offline   birk 

  • Room To Let
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5,524
  • Joined: 23-May 03

Post icon  Posted 11 May 2004 - 03:33 PM

Description of Low ID and disadvantages to Low ID

You should start out reading the description of ID from eMule's documentation. Low ID means that the ports specified in eMule's preferences -> Connection is blocked or can not be reached. Having a Low ID has some disadvantages outlined below:
  • No IP is known of the machine eMule is running on therefore all requests like queue or connection requests to this client have to be routed over the server, the low ID client is connected to. This routing causes considerable amount of CPU load on the server thus reducing the maximum number of users the server can cope with. Lugdunum's servers limit the number low ID users or even ban them at all.
  • Two clients on low ID cannot connect to each other, as it is not possible to route messages over two different servers. This will lead to less sources for the downloads.
  • On busy servers it may well happen that the messages gets lost and eMule misses important information about queue progression or download requests. This may lead to fewer credits and worse downloads.
Solution for getting a High ID for the most common Low ID problems

There are different reasons for users getting Low ID's. Please look at all of them to dertermine what is causing your Low ID before creating new threads in either the support forum or the hardware forum! The most common ones are outlined below and there is also a description of how to fix them:
  • Misconfigured routers
    Problem: If you are connected to the Internet through a router you have to do some port forwarding on your router in order to get a High ID.
    Solution: There are many routers and it is different from router to router how you forward ports. Similar for all routers is that you have to forward you external IP to your internal IP for all eMule's ports. The official router's section in eMule's documentation gives you some help and www.emulehelp.tk also gives some help regarding port forwarding. Your should also check the manual that came with your router for information regarding port forwarding. If you still have problems forwarding your ports after reading through all the information on these two pages and your manual then create a new thread in the Hardware forum to get support from users on this board. Remember to give all the nessacary information in your thread to make supporters able to help you.


  • Misconfigured firewall
    Problem: If not properly configured your firewall might block the ports eMule uses hence the Low ID.
    Solution: There are many different firewalls and many different ways of configuring each of them. The official firewall's section in eMule's documentation helps regarding this and www.emulehelp.tk also offers help regarding this. Also try checking the information that came with your firewall or is located on the manufactors homepage if the two links posted didn't do the trick.


  • The built in Windows XP firewall is enabled
    Problem: If not properly configured the bulit in firewall in Windows XP will block the ports eMule uses hence the Low ID.
    Solution: The official Windows XP firewall section in eMule's documentation gives a guide to configuring the built in Windows XP firewall. If you are running another firewall you can also disable the XP firewall.


  • Internet Service Provider is blocking eMule's ports
    Problem: A rising amount of ISP's are beginning to block known ports for p2p applications. When a port is blocked no traffic can go through that port and you will be stuck with a Low ID.
    Solution: You can change the ports eMule uses in eMule's preferences -> Connection to something else between 1056 and 65535. Try different ports and try choosing a port not already used for something. If your ISP is blocking ports you might want to think about getting another ISP if possible.


  • Natted connections
    Problem: Your are on some sort of network that gets all its traffic through one IP and then NAT's the traffic to all the users in the network.
    Solution: If you are on a natted connection there is really not that much you can do. Some ISP's let you get a "public" IP for a little fee every month but not all ISP's. If you really want a High ID you should consider getting another ISP.
If you still have got a Low ID after checking all these things you should start a new thread in the support forum (for router problems please use the hardware forum) and remember to add all the important information in your post so that supporters has something to work with.

This post is based mostly on information from eMule's documentation, waynebike's homepage (www.emulehelp.tk) and knowledge gained from different posts!
2

#2 User is offline   PluG 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,585
  • Joined: 27-November 02

Posted 20 January 2005 - 11:17 AM

Additionally a LowID can be caused if your ISP is using Proxy Servers, tho` it`s not something I`m greatly familiar with using or detecting, my ISP does give me the option of using a proxy, so I could verify the validity of the results. I found an easy to use site which can be used to identify such a case, and thought it might be helpful to others here. As with natted connections above afaik I don`t think there`s much you can do to remedy the situation.

You can visit this site -> ProxyJudge to identify whether or not your ISP is using a proxy. Once there click on any of the recommended or other ProxyJudge links.

Check the info in the lower half of the new screen that pops up.

Result: Not using a Proxy:
  • REMOTE_HOST
    Result
    Comment
      Maybe no problem.

Result: Using a proxy:
  • REMOTE_HOST
    Result
      Via a Proxy
    Comment
      REMOTE_HOST includes proxy server word "cache-xxx.proxy.xxx.com".

Hopefully this`ll help solve some of the mystery in determining whether or not some have a LowID b/cos they`re behind a Proxy.

P.S If anyone with more experience in this area feels this isn`t helpful or misleading in some way, say so and maybe birk can edit or remove this post.
0

#3 User is offline   birk 

  • Room To Let
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5,524
  • Joined: 23-May 03

Posted 20 January 2005 - 02:06 PM

Thanks for the input. :+1:

Not sure I understand how a proxy server can cause low id. Can you explain it to me? :confused:
0

#4 User is offline   PluG 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,585
  • Joined: 27-November 02

Posted 20 January 2005 - 03:44 PM

Although my previous post was only intended to post an easy way of detection, not as a technical manual on proxies or neccessarily how someone could approach fixing the problem, if they should be in that situation, and if it`s solvable in any individual cases. Knowing what the problem is can be half the struggle.

As with a router that doesn`t have it`s ports forwarded so unable to recieve incoming connections, a connection routed thru some proxies can have similar properties where a user is also unable to recieve incoming connections.

A vastely superior explanation on different proxies can be found in the prefs -> proxy link of the docs.

http://www.emule-pro...ic&topic_id=110

This post has been edited by PluG: 20 January 2005 - 03:50 PM

0

#5 User is offline   TERI 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 29-January 05

Posted 29 January 2005 - 05:29 PM

birk, on Jan 20 2005, 04:06 PM, said:

Thanks for the input. :+1:

Not sure I understand how a proxy server can cause low id. Can you explain it to me?  :confused:
View Post




:flowers:
THANX FOR PUTTING ME OUT OF MY MISERY, HAVE BEEN STRUGGLING ALL DAY TO TRY AND FIX MY LOWID PROB, HAVE BEEN VERY :confused: IM STILL BLACKLISTED , BUT AT LEAST NOW I HAVE AN IDEA OF WHY. STAX OF THANX :thumbup:
0

#6 User is offline   TheDJ« 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: 09-October 02

Posted 31 January 2005 - 11:42 AM

I keep getting blacklisted from Razorback2? To start with, it was always full, so once i got the message that the server was full, i would try connecting again, and eventually got blacklisted. I did not, repeat, did not connect too fast, like when people just keep double clicking untill they connect.

What can we do about this blacklisting crap please?

Cheers
DJ.
0

#7 User is offline   niclights 

  • lost in space
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10,288
  • Joined: 01-November 04

Posted 31 January 2005 - 01:29 PM

Blacklisting is only temporary.

However, I suspect your problem is you are firewalled. Do you get Low-Id on other servers (I assume this is why you posted this here) ? Then you will have these problems connecting to Razorback - it only allows a limited number of Low-Id's.

Either Open/Forward your ports if you can, or use another server. It is not important which server you use.

If you have further problems I suggest posting a question in Support, as this sticky is not really the place.

/Edit: It appears you did post in Support aswell. No need to post twice :+1:

This post has been edited by niclights: 31 January 2005 - 01:33 PM

0

#8 User is offline   mnpqxyzt 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 04-November 04

Posted 01 February 2005 - 08:29 AM

My computer is in a workgroup so I use internet through a LAN and I have to use Zone Alarm to protect my PC. I think this is one of the reason that I always have a low ID although I upload as much as I can (about 57 G, and upload speed is always 30Kb or more). Can you help me to solve my problem?
0

#9 User is offline   elconi13 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5,395
  • Joined: 31-March 04

Posted 01 February 2005 - 12:45 PM

Please, don't use the Guides for your questions, use the Support - Do You Need Help? forum instead... :)

Cheers
*
I've been looking so long at these pictures of you that I almost belive that they're real.

I've been living so long with my pictures of you that I almost believe that the pictures are all I can feel.
0

#10 User is offline   Darshu 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 07-March 05

Posted 07 March 2005 - 08:08 AM

I'm so confused with this low ID thing. I got blacklisted on Razorback2 for LowID. I get 100kb dload speed at donkey servr 1, erm doesn't that mean my connection has no problems?
0

#11 User is offline   i_giusti 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 11-March 05

Posted 12 March 2005 - 05:07 PM

I am really desperate :cry:

I know it is crazy...with all the help that there is online and on the Help on eMule I can't get it right....HELPPPPPPLEASE!!!!!

YES...STILL LOW ID:
I have been working on it since 6am to 8pm yesterday I read and read and read, and call my router support but I am still having no resaults.

When I test the ports here is the message:

Starting TCP connection test...
TCP test failed! UDP test will not be performed.


I have Windows XP

My eMule version is 0.44b

I have DirectWay Satellite internet

My router is a Belkin

Here is what I did so far:

I found my IP on start/control Panel/network connections/Lan (icon)/right cilick/status/support (when I use wireless connection of course I change all parameters, IP ect...)

I setup my router as described here www.emulehelp.tk (belikin)

I tried to disable the DHCP

I activated the DMZ on my IP address (plese don't try to hack me until I haven't solve the problem :( )

For XP fire Wall I went in eMule under Preferance/connection/Clientport/click on "open these ports on internal WinXp fire wall"
I tried with the classic ports 4662 TCP and 4672 UDP and I tried with ports arround 65000 of course sanding these new parameters on the router
And I also tried what the Help eMule says about WinXP fire wall and put the TCP and UDP manulay and tried with my internal IP (which it is kept when I type it) and with the IP suggested there in the Help eMule tab which is 127.0.0.1 (which it is not kept when I close the window but substitute with the name of my computer)


I have Northon Security, I opened it and under the tab option I click on Northon internet Security click on the tab firewall and in list of HTTP I click add and I add the ports 4662 and 4672.

I tried go to start/control Panel/network connections/Lan (icon)/right cilick/properties/Protocol internet (TCP/IP)(checked and highlighted)/Properties and check "Optain IP address automaticly" and I tried to uncheck it and check the "Use the following IP Address" filled it with what's in start/control Panel/network connections/Lan (icon)/right cilick/status/support and put on the "prefered DNS server" the same thing that I put on my Gataway.


I tried to go on www.whatismyip.com and it doesn't much my computer IP or my router IP.

I tried to go on eMule/statistic and look for the WAN that I think it should macth with what I find on www.whatismyip.com but I don't find it there.

Probably I did some other stuff but I don't remember. Plese Help.

My eMule Uploads arround 10 KB/s and Downloads 5KB/s and the Downloads limints are set arround 500KB/s.

HELP!!! I am exausted

thanks

Igor
0

#12 User is offline   alexmola 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 22-March 05

Posted 22 March 2005 - 09:54 PM

I'm currently blacklisted at Razorback2

I do not use proxies. I do not use firewall.

Rb2 is the only server who says i have "lowid".

I never try to connect again unless it says is full.

So i'm not very happy right now....
0

#13 User is offline   ryuujin 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 04-May 05

Posted 04 May 2005 - 08:50 AM

I do have this lowID problem but it wasn't caused by the 1 of the reasons listed above. I found out is due to my NAV (Norton Antvirus 2005) installed. When i disable the worm protection, I will get high ID but once its enable the lowID problem arise again. I do not know what to do now. I need the worm protection enable and I also tried switching to Mcafee, but just somehow the NAV makes my winxp not compatible with Mcafee.

I can try install other antivirus program but just don't know which is a reliable one.

Someone please help me if you knew any solutions to this.

Thanks million. :cry2: :cry:
0

#14 User is offline   bounty vb 

  • Lord of Noobs
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5,317
  • Joined: 04-January 05

Posted 04 May 2005 - 11:21 AM

@ryuujin

why do you NEED worm protection on???


mcaffee should work :+1: .

if i were you i would just turn off the worm protection :+1: .


(maybe you can make an "exception/exclusion" for emule??)
totally back, towts xD
0

#15 User is offline   Xanthor 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 17-November 04

Posted 07 May 2005 - 07:25 AM

Low ID thats not Low id? This has me so baffled. Havent changed a thing with my router, or software on my system, yet today I noticed I was showing low ID when looking at the server I was connected to. The up and downloading seems fine, yet the ID shows low, and when I run the test to check the ports thats built into Emule, they both pass. Something up with a false low ID reading?
0

#16 User is offline   birk 

  • Room To Let
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5,524
  • Joined: 23-May 03

Posted 07 May 2005 - 11:04 AM

Xanthor, on May 7 2005, 09:25 AM, said:

Low ID thats not Low id? This has me so baffled. Havent changed a thing with my router, or software on my system, yet today I noticed I was showing low ID when looking at the server I was connected to. The up and downloading seems fine, yet the ID shows low, and when I run the test to check the ports thats built into Emule, they both pass. Something up with a false low ID reading?
View Post

Reconnect to another server and see if it changes and enable smart low id check on connect. :)
0

#17 User is offline   valoche 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 24-May 05

Posted 25 May 2005 - 05:09 AM

I read all the docs and I still have a LOW ID! What can be done? I have another programme that works much better, I think I will get rid of emule!
Please help me!
0

#18 User is offline   scooter16 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 02-November 05

Post icon  Posted 03 November 2005 - 08:40 PM

I have a high ID but it still doesn't download.Before about a month my emule worked real nice but since i changed a speed of my internet to a higher one it stopped downloading.....I don't know how to make right preferences
Please help........ :( :( :( :( :( :( :(
0

#19 User is offline   blaggo 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 06-July 05

Posted 05 November 2005 - 12:03 AM

valoche, on May 25 2005, 06:09 AM, said:

I read all the docs and I still have a LOW ID! What can be done? I have another programme that works much better, I think I will get rid of emule!
Please help me!
View Post


Hmmm, now look here! :argue: You say you have tried "everything" but really.... a lot of people say that expression - but try making a checklist, like here:

Be patient and go through methodically :)

- Do you, or do you not, have to go through a firewall at some point to access the internet? (remember if on XP that this has a firewall built in).

If YES then remember that you have to check the TCP and UDP port numbers set in Emule connection settings - and 'ALLOW/Unblock' these ports in your firewall program/s (remember you might even be running more than one firewall .... )

- Do you, or do you not, have to go through a ROUTER or some kind of switch - are you on a Network, or shared connection through another computer (you have a 'Gateway computer' to connect through?

This is BAD for speed usually - as in you get more 'latency' which translates to TIMEOUTS often as well, and going through another computers connection is in its' self like being behind a router. I recommend if you have to stay behind a network or router :( to at least use as short as safely possible cables that are high-quality and well shielded etc and disable unneeded network services. Forward the EMule port numbers as instructed.
And why not use the Gateway computer for Emule? :D if you can, rather than going through another PC.

- Have you checked for all programs using the Internet connection?

:) Don't have unnecassary crap using your connection - especially when running Emule. This includes Messenger programs, streaming radio, other P2P programs...

- Checked for Spyware/Adware/viruses?

Some is a minor problem, some are major...... . Hopefully your PCs broadband connection is not actually being used as a Zombie Spammer sending out floods of email :D But really, do check....

- Last but not least,, have you made sure you have latest Emule installed with default settings!!!

:)
0

#20 User is offline   elites 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 13-November 05

Posted 13 November 2005 - 01:02 PM

scooter16, on Nov 3 2005, 08:40 PM, said:

I have a high ID    but it still doesn't download.Before about a month my emule worked real nice    but since i changed a speed of my internet to a higher one it stopped downloading.....I don't know how to make right preferences 
Please help........ :(  :(  :(  :(  :(  :(  :(
View Post

yep , I have the same problem, I've had good time with emule several months ago(190Kb/s peak) till this month I moved to another house, my emule strikes, it never reach 10Kb/s and most of the time 0kb/s. it sucks, I don't know why. my bittorrents work well though
0

  • Member Options

  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users