Official eMule-Board: Ed2k Links Are Not Added To Emule! - Official eMule-Board

Jump to content


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

Ed2k Links Are Not Added To Emule! The solution is rigt here...

#1 User is offline   birk 

  • Room To Let
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5,524
  • Joined: 23-May 03

Post icon  Posted 30 April 2004 - 05:59 PM

If you click on an ED2K link and it doesn't add to your eMule something is wrong with the associations regarding ED2K links in the registry. First check in eMule's preferences -> General if the "ED2K links" button is greyed out. If it isn't then click it and ED2k links will work. If it is greyed out then download ED2K link killer (by Resterampe) and remove the references in the registry regarding ED2K links.

These two registry entries are responsible for the web link format said:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\ed2k\shell\open\command
Name: (Standard)
Type: REG_SZ
Data: "Path to emule.exe(with quotes!)" %1

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\ed2k\shell\open\command
Name: (Standard)
Type: REG_SZ
Data: "Path to emule.exe(with quotes!)" %1


I use Opera as my web browser. Does this apply for me too?

Dependning on your version you need to do some simple things in order to get it to work. Have a look here for a description of what you need to do to get ED2K links to work with Opera.

I use Mozilla or Firefox as my web browser. Does this apply for me too?

You will need to download a plugin in order to get it to work. Have a look here for a description of what you need to do to get ED2K links to work with Mozilla or Firefox.


Credits goes to the official eMule documentation!
0

#2 User is offline   bigpete 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 11-August 03

Posted 06 June 2004 - 08:00 PM

Every time I click on a link to add to emule I get an error message saying,

iexplore.exe has detected a problem and will shut down

appname: iexplore.exe appver: 6.0.2800.1106 modName: incfin~~1.dll

What am I doing wrong ??
0

#3 User is offline   CSL 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 12-October 04

Posted 26 October 2004 - 03:02 AM

ED2K links were working just fine, until I upgraded from Netscape 7.1 to 7.2 yesterday. Now they open another emule, instead of adding downloads to my already running emule.

The button had become greyed out, although the two entries looked fine in the registry. I removed the registry entries, and reinstalled them from the preferences button, but it still opens another emule.
0

#4 User is offline   The_Dark_Wanderer 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 07-April 05

Posted 07 April 2005 - 10:35 PM

I'm using Firefox, so i downloaded the mozex plugin. The problem is: I can't get it to work. Where should I enter the path name to eMule since Frire fox is different from Mozilla.
Please help. Thank you
0

#5 User is offline   birk 

  • Room To Let
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5,524
  • Joined: 23-May 03

Posted 11 April 2005 - 09:30 AM

Try without the plugin. Works for me. :)
0

#6 User is offline   templar_of_ni 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 07-May 05

Posted 09 May 2005 - 03:28 PM

The_Dark_Wanderer, on Apr 8 2005, 12:35 AM, said:

I'm using Firefox, so i downloaded the mozex plugin.  The problem is: I can't get it to work.  Where should I enter the path name to eMule since Frire fox is different from Mozilla.
Please help. Thank you
View Post


Instead of mozex you can use this Firefox extension: http://www.informati...~dyna/mldonkey/
But keep in mind that this extension is intended to be used when the eMule client is 'remote'
i.e somewhere else in your local network (it will work just fine for local clients though).
0

#7 User is offline   isepiq 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 05-January 03

Post icon  Posted 18 May 2005 - 10:04 AM

I am having this same problem again also. Click on a link, and it opens another emule. Click on 4 links and end up with 4 emules running. I have done a clean reinstall, & the link killer thing. I did upgrade Java just before this happened??? I know I had and fixed this same problem a couple years ago, but cannot remember for the life of me what I did to fix it. I am pretty sure there was a sticky about multiple emules starting on link clicks back then??? Since this is the second time this has happened to me, there must be someone out there with a fix for this. Thanx for any help. Wish I could remember from last time....

IMHO
isepiq B)
0

#8 User is offline   MadlyMad 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,745
  • Joined: 29-October 02

Posted 18 May 2005 - 04:22 PM

thanks for the topic birk (and thanks to Resterampe for the ED2K link killer program) :+1:


I was wondering why thoses ed2k links didn't work, even after reinstalling eMule, and with eMule set to "listen to ed2k links", with IE or Firefox

now I ran ED2K link killer, Re-Assign ED2K links to eMule

now it works great again, without the need to install this moz' plugin for firefox :P


thanks ;)

The extreme limit of wisdom, that is what the public calls madness.
0

#9 User is offline   birk 

  • Room To Let
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5,524
  • Joined: 23-May 03

Posted 19 May 2005 - 04:26 PM

Glad you could use it for something. :)
0

#10 User is offline   isepiq 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 05-January 03

Post icon  Posted 20 May 2005 - 05:32 AM

eMule Links open another eMule window:

I finally remembered what I had done, and how to fix it, at least in my instance. I had gone into Administrative Tools, Services, and set to 'Disabled' the option for:

Secondary Logon

I reset this to automatic, and clicked on Start Application. I then re-booted eMule, and not only did this fix the links opening new eMule windows, but also fixed:

Run eMule as unprivileged user 'eMule Secure'

I noticed an error message in the eMule log when the links were misbehaving. I hope this nfo can be of use to others, as I am pretty sure that I am not the only one that likes to play with 'tweaking' windows xp, hahhahahhahah.

IMHO
isepiq B)

P.S. For some reason, I had to re-boot one of my computers to get this fix working. You might also???
0

#11 User is offline   fonsi2 

  • Magnificent Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 337
  • Joined: 15-November 05

Posted 17 November 2005 - 11:28 PM

Thanks, I will consider it :+1:
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
0

#12 User is offline   Attilaz 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 28-January 06

Post icon  Posted 28 January 2006 - 01:45 PM

Hi, as a beginner I have some problems, juste have updated emule plus and I still don't achieve to connect because of "your edonkey client is too old" :cry2: what's that? How to solve the problem? :worthy:

Thanks

Attilaz
0

#13 User is offline   Attilaz 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 28-January 06

Post icon  Posted 28 January 2006 - 01:57 PM

:-k forgot to add that I also receive the message "you have a low ID" evnethough I have set my connection on 1024/512?
I have achieved to connect but only on a XXXX server :shock: , is at as safe as on razorback or edonkey?
Should I continue with emule plus or download the normal Emule?

Heeeeeeeeeeeeelp!
0

#14 User is offline   tijnenzo 

  • and NO it's not a BLUNT!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,711
  • Joined: 09-November 05

Posted 28 January 2006 - 02:26 PM

Only help provided for the official eMule version.

eMule plus is a leecher mod and they have their own forum.

My advice: Download the official version.

:+1:
ôLife is growth. If we stop growing, technically and spiritually, we are as good as dead.ö

Morihei Ueshiba
0

#15 User is offline   Attilaz 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 28-January 06

Posted 28 January 2006 - 03:03 PM

tijnenzo, on Jan 28 2006, 04:26 PM, said:

Only help provided for the official eMule version.

eMule plus is a leecher mod and they have their own forum.

My advice: Download the official version.

:+1:
View Post



Really I didn't know. :( .. I will do the necessary, thanks :+1:
0

#16 User is offline   mainbunny 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 06

Posted 13 February 2006 - 08:34 AM

hi isepiq,
brilliant, iv'e been faffing about for weeks trying to find out why i kept opening multiple e-mules.....even down to a format..tried your method and it now works perfectly, no multiple openings, plus links now working including server updates. thanks again buddy.
mainbunny.

This post has been edited by mainbunny: 13 February 2006 - 08:38 AM

0

#17 User is offline   joker555 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 19-February 06

Posted 19 February 2006 - 08:46 PM

This thread so far is brill- was having same problem, I just go newest version (because no dld added to emule when I clicked ed2k link blah blah) So, I did the link-killer(thanx) and went options(have that instead of 'preferences)>General, and the ed2k button was active again(not greyed out) good so far, but still no luck SO I got the mozec plugin (because I run Firefox) but I just don't know how to do the next part, please someone be nice and help: It asks to "open your browsers preferences and enter
path_to_eMule\emule.exe %r in the eD2k edit box of the mozex plugin.
e.g.: C:\ProgramFiles\eMule\emule.exe %r....I wen to my browser's icon in 'start,programs' panel, and right clicked, to get 'options', looked through all tab but can't see where to do this 'path' thing.??thanx for any help :)
*sorry for long post..just wondering, do I : put the dld mozec file(mozex-1.07.xpi) into
ProgramFiles>Mozilla>Plugins..and then what?

This post has been edited by joker555: 19 February 2006 - 09:38 PM

0

#18 User is offline   mc_rat_2k1 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 20-February 06

Post icon  Posted 20 February 2006 - 04:15 PM

Quote

If you click on an ED2K link and it doesn't add to your eMule something is wrong with the associations regarding ED2K links in the registry. First check in eMule's preferences -> General if the "ED2K links" button is greyed out. If it isn't then click it and ED2k links will work. If it is greyed out then download ED2K link killer (by Resterampe) and remove the references in the registry regarding ED2K links.

[quote=These two registry entries are responsible for the web link format]
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\ed2k\shell\open\command
Name: (Standard)
Type: REG_SZ
Data: "Path to emule.exe(with quotes!)" %1

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\ed2k\shell\open\command
Name: (Standard)
Type: REG_SZ
Data: "Path to emule.exe(with quotes!)" %1


Downloaded the ED2K link killer and removed the links, but how do i remove the references in the registry?
0

#19 User is offline   joker555 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 19-February 06

Posted 21 February 2006 - 07:39 AM

Yes, I'm wondering the same thing as mc_rat_2k1 about "how do I remove the references in the registrys"...just hear of the dang things :P ..and I did all that other stuff (tried two link killers and plugins, mozec and something else) I am still wondering how to set that path, dont know where or how. Also (last thing I promise) when I do the link kill thin, that ed2k link button is actiive, I click it and it links to emul BUt it doesn't STAY active, it goes greyed out again, I have done the link killer thing over and over...please help, I want to get the mule back in the stable

This post has been edited by joker555: 21 February 2006 - 07:39 AM

0

#20 User is offline   moriati 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 10-April 06

Posted 10 April 2006 - 09:56 PM

isepiq, on May 20 2005, 05:32 AM, said:

eMule Links open another eMule window:

I finally remembered what I had done, and how to fix it, at least in my instance.  I had gone into Administrative Tools, Services, and set to 'Disabled' the option for:

Secondary Logon

I reset this to automatic, and clicked on Start Application.  I then re-booted eMule, and not only did this fix the links opening new eMule windows, but also fixed:

Run eMule as unprivileged user 'eMule Secure'

I noticed an error message in the eMule log when the links were misbehaving.  I hope this nfo can be of use to others, as I am pretty sure that I am not the only one that likes to play with 'tweaking' windows xp, hahhahahhahah.

IMHO
isepiq B)

P.S. For some reason, I had to re-boot one of my computers to get this fix working.  You might also???
View Post




Thanks for this tip....
0

  • Member Options

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users