Official eMule-Board: Can't Connect. All Servers "appear To Be Dead" - Official eMule-Board

Jump to content


Page 1 of 1

Can't Connect. All Servers "appear To Be Dead" Please help

#1 User is offline   adihead 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 66
  • Joined: 01-January 05

Post icon  Posted 28 October 2006 - 04:29 PM

Hi. I've been using Emule happily for almost a year. Suddenly today I am unable to connect to servers. I keep getting a message that server appears to be dead.

I update my server list with http://corpo.free.fr/server.met.

I've tried selecting several servers from the server list. All get the same message:

10/28/2006 6:20:32 PM: Byte Devils (194.213.0.10:3306) appears to be dead.
10/28/2006 6:22:18 PM: DonkeyServer No2 (62.241.53.16:4242) appears to be dead.
10/28/2006 6:22:43 PM: DonkeyServer No1 (72.51.37.237:8899) appears to be dead.
10/28/2006 6:24:23 PM: The Cherry Popper (72.51.38.140:8118) appears to be dead.
10/28/2006 6:25:42 PM: MacroPirate (209.204.61.170:6789) appears to be dead.
and so on...


Does anyone have any ideas?


My specs:

Pc Configuration
- Operating System >>> Windows xp SP2
- Internet connection type (Bandwidth, Eg: 1024/320 DSL) >>> ADSL, 750 Kbps
- Modem, Router, Proxy (manufacturer and model) >>> USB ADSL MODEM ALE 130
- Firewalls >>> Norton Internet Security
- Antivirus >>> Norton Antivirus
- Spyware detector >>> Ad-Aware SE Personal, Spybot Search&Destroy
- Emule Version >>> v0.47c

Emule Settings (Options tab)
- Dl/Ul capacity >>> 91/16
- Dl/Ul limits >>> unchecked/10
- Hard limit >>> 400
- Max Connection >>> 500
- Activated networks (ED2k, Kad, Both) >>> Both
- Max. new connection/5 secs (Options -> Extended) >>> 20
- Max half open connection (Options -> Extended) >>> 9
- Ports TCP/UDP >>> 8080/4672
0

#2 User is offline   niclights 

  • lost in space
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10,288
  • Joined: 01-November 04

Posted 28 October 2006 - 04:52 PM

Firewall of some sort is blocking.

Most common reason is change of IP if your modem is also a router.

or NIS.

Try changing ports.
0

#3 User is offline   Stoepsel 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4,101
  • Joined: 14-September 02

Posted 28 October 2006 - 05:16 PM

Some of the server in your server list are fake.

To get a clean server list without fake servers, do the following:
In Options > Server, disable the options "Update server list when connecting to a server" and "Update server list when client connects".
Go to the Servers screen.
Delete all servers from your server list.
Add this URL to the "Update server.met from URL" field in the Servers screen and click the Update button: http://www.gruk.org/server.met.gz
It said: "Insert disk #3 into drive...", but only 2 will fit...?!?
0

#4 User is offline   rainbowjjk 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 21-October 06

Posted 29 October 2006 - 07:15 AM

If changing port doesn't work.That should be the problem of your ISP.I've got the message from my friend working in my ISP that they prohibit the protocol of BT and eMule .I can't connect to server by common method,either.
0

#5 User is offline   niclights 

  • lost in space
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10,288
  • Joined: 01-November 04

Posted 29 October 2006 - 06:35 PM

In the case of protocol blocking/throttling try using Obfuscated connetion.
0

#6 User is offline   Haze7 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 02-April 13

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:03 AM

View Postniclights, on 29 October 2006 - 01:35 PM, said:

In the case of protocol blocking/throttling try using Obfuscated connetion.

Can U please tell me how to change ports cuz im having the same problem and I live in USA
0

#7 User is offline   Zangune 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,629
  • Joined: 05-March 12

Posted 02 April 2013 - 09:46 AM

This thread is seven years old.
In eMule Options -> Connection -> Client Port
0

#8 User is offline   maxban1 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 02-February 15

Posted 02 February 2015 - 01:48 PM

View PostStoepsel, on 28 October 2006 - 07:16 PM, said:

Some of the server in your server list are fake.

To get a clean server list without fake servers, do the following:
In Options > Server, disable the options "Update server list when connecting to a server" and "Update server list when client connects".
Go to the Servers screen.
Delete all servers from your server list.
Add this URL to the "Update server.met from URL" field in the Servers screen and click the Update button: http://www.gruk.org/server.met.gz


WOW!!!!!
I've been looking for this solution for 2 hours now!
THANKS for the server list!
Worked the first time!
0

#9 User is offline   UserEmule 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: 01-September 09

Posted 19 April 2015 - 11:02 PM

this may help
not sure how accurate it is
http://www.emule.com/emule-server/
0

#10 User is offline   Zangune 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,629
  • Joined: 05-March 12

Posted 20 April 2015 - 08:28 AM

Good servers list, bad site! Please remove that URL.
0

#11 User is offline   FortStreetCowboy 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 22-May 15

Posted 22 May 2015 - 04:29 PM

View Postniclights, on 28 October 2006 - 09:52 AM, said:

Firewall of some sort is blocking.

Most common reason is change of IP if your modem is also a router.

or NIS.

Try changing ports.



Changing ports. Can you guide me on how to do this safely? Thanks.

This post has been edited by FortStreetCowboy: 22 May 2015 - 04:30 PM

0

#12 User is offline   xilolee 

  • EMULE 0.50A USER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Italian Moderators
  • Posts: 7,058
  • Joined: 20-August 08

Posted 22 May 2015 - 07:22 PM

You can use each port between 1 and 65535 (both included).
If there are problems, you can always change the numbers (just close-restart emule).
INCONCEIVABLE! - You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
come ottenere aiuto italian guides - guide della sezione italiana
italian support - sezione italiana scaricare la lista server
ottenere id alto aprire le porte nel router
recuperare file corrotti i filtri ip
Sembra talco ma non č serve a darti l'allegrIa! Se lo lanci e poi lo respiri ti dā subito l'allegrIa! Posted Image
0

#13 User is offline   fox88 

  • Golden eMule
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4,185
  • Joined: 13-May 07

Posted 23 May 2015 - 09:40 AM

Usually it would be safer to select ports above 1024.
0

  • Member Options

Page 1 of 1

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users