Official eMule-Board: Emule Not Connecting To The Servers - Official eMule-Board

Jump to content


Page 1 of 1

Emule Not Connecting To The Servers

#1 User is offline   Alexane 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-September 06

Posted 02 September 2006 - 11:24 AM

Hello !!! I've had a very strange problem for about 1 month, now. First, I thought it would just be temporary, but it's getting worse and worse.
I've been using eMule for more than two years, I've never had something like that.
I takes more than one hour to connect itself to a server, sometimes more, sometimes, like today, it doesn't connect at all.
I don't have an AV, I have a firewall, and I use the port forwarding, so no problem on this side. When I'm connected, I have a high ID.
All the connections end up "timed out". I really don't understand that. Nothing happened, I didn't install anything new, I have about 200 files in my shared folder, so... why ?
If somebody has the same problem or a solution (even better), it would be great to tell me !
Thanks.
0

#2 User is offline   niclights 

  • lost in space
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10,288
  • Joined: 01-November 04

Posted 02 September 2006 - 11:29 AM

Connection should be instant. Either firewall/router is causing trouble, you have faulty modem/poor line or your connection is saturated.

Do you use any other P2P programs or chat software at the same time?
Is your connection shared with other computers on a network that might have heavy traffic?
What are your values for Max Connections, Max New Connections/5sec, Max Half-Open Connections?
How many sources total? Or how many downloads/average sources?
Do you see a nice steady straight line on the upload graph? If not, reduce UL Limit (should be approx 75% upload bandwidth).
Disconnect Kad if connected.
0

#3 User is offline   Alexane 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-September 06

Posted 02 September 2006 - 01:01 PM

View Postniclights, on Sep 2 2006, 11:29 AM, said:

Connection should be instant. Either firewall/router is causing trouble, you have faulty modem/poor line or your connection is saturated.

Do you use any other P2P programs or chat software at the same time?
Is your connection shared with other computers on a network that might have heavy traffic?
What are your values for Max Connections, Max New Connections/5sec, Max Half-Open Connections?
How many sources total? Or how many downloads/average sources?
Do you see a nice steady straight line on the upload graph? If not, reduce UL Limit (should be approx 75% upload bandwidth).
Disconnect Kad if connected.

I don't know : firewall was never a problem, as I opened the ports, and it was working perfectly fine last month. I didn't change anything. I have DSL 10Mo, so my connection is fine. Not saturated either. No other P2P program is launched. No chat session either.
I can't tell you for the other stuff, because my eMule is in French and I couldn't find the things you were talking about. Max connections is 800 (I think), the rest, I don't know.
I don't see anything on the upload graph, because since yesterday, I have not been able to connect to any server...
Kad is not connected...
This is really strange...
0

#4 User is offline   torpon 

  • I'm so tired
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 21,272
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 02 September 2006 - 01:12 PM

Have you tried connecting Kad with a good nodes.dat, like Soultcer's, without succeed?

Cheers

PS Tou can change language in eMule to find settings niclights asked about or can try in French General

This post has been edited by torpon: 02 September 2006 - 01:16 PM


#5 User is offline   Alexane 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-September 06

Posted 02 September 2006 - 01:14 PM

View Posttorpon, on Sep 2 2006, 01:12 PM, said:

Have you tried connecting Kad with a good nodes.dat, like Soultcer's, without succeed?

Cheers

Mmm ? What's that ? (I have a very basic use of eMule)
0

#6 User is offline   torpon 

  • I'm so tired
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderator
  • Posts: 21,272
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 02 September 2006 - 01:21 PM

Soultcer's nodes.dat, download it and move it to config folder. Then click on Kad button select From known clients and click Bootstrap.

Cheers :D

#7 User is offline   Alexane 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-September 06

Posted 02 September 2006 - 01:27 PM

thanks for the link. Downloaded and installed, but it's doing no good. Still not connecting... :(
0

#8 User is offline   Alexane 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-September 06

Posted 02 September 2006 - 01:44 PM

I tested the ports, everything is fine. The firewall is not causing troubles, obviously... So why doesn't it want to connect itself to the servers ???
0

#9 User is offline   niclights 

  • lost in space
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10,288
  • Joined: 01-November 04

Posted 02 September 2006 - 02:14 PM

Try changing ports.

PS. There is a French forum if it is easier for you as Torpon said :)

This post has been edited by niclights: 02 September 2006 - 02:15 PM

0

#10 User is offline   Alexane 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-September 06

Posted 02 September 2006 - 02:20 PM

No, English should be fine. It's just that I had no idea what he was talking about. I'll try to change the ports... But, at least, I should connect with a low-ID, no ?

ok, I changed the ports, nothing. Connection timed out, as usual.... :cry:
0

#11 User is offline   niclights 

  • lost in space
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10,288
  • Joined: 01-November 04

Posted 02 September 2006 - 02:22 PM

Yes, you should connect Low-Id anyway.

This is unusual. I wonder if it is related to ISP, especially after recent changes to French law. I think it might be worth asking in the French forum about your ISP and this problem.
0

#12 User is offline   Alexane 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 02-September 06

Posted 02 September 2006 - 02:24 PM

ok, I thought about that, too... thanks, I'll have a look there.
0

#13 User is offline   yestern 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 06-September 06

Posted 06 September 2006 - 04:19 PM

i am having the same problem. Evrything was fine until one morning when i checked my emule and suddenly i am no longer able to connect and i get time out messages or server is full messages. At first it said that my ports did not work so i changed those, and they are working, but i cannot connect.
0

  • Member Options

Page 1 of 1

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users